Monthly Archives: February 2020

Beware: The Consequences of Leaving the Scene of an Accident

A car accident can create an adrenaline surge that causes panic and fear.  Unfortunately, this can cause some drivers to make poor decisions such as fleeing the scene of the accident. Drivers may flee hoping to escape legal consequences for issues such as having an invalid license, no insurance, driving under the influence, or even warrants for their arrest. Based on crash scene data, the National Highway Traffic Safety Administration, or “NHSTA”, estimates that a hit and run accident occurs every 43 seconds in the US. (https://www.nhtsa.gov/) The American Automobile Association warns that the number of hit-and-run fatalities has been increasing at an average rate of 7.2 percent per year since 2009. (https://aaafoundation.org/wp-content/uploads/2018/04/18-0058_Hit-and-Run-Brief_FINALv2.pdf)

Whatever the reason, fleeing the scene almost always takes a bad situation and makes it much worse. The consequences for fleeing the scene of an accident vary depending on the type of accident and the state in which you live. You could be charged with anything from a traffic citation to a criminal charge, depending on the circumstances.

Even if the accident was caused by the …
Continue Reading »

What You Need to Know if You are Bitten by a Dog

By statute, the owner, or in some situations, the “keeper”, of a dog is liable for the full amount of damages caused by the dog. The dog bite law is a “strict liability” law meaning that the claimant does not have to prove negligence on the part of the owner. Owners of dogs are liable for injuries and damages caused by their dogs to another person, domestic pet, or property.

A dog bite should be reported to local law enforcement. The most crucial first step is to make sure that the dog is not released or destroyed if they bite or attack. A ten-day quarantine can ensure the animal is free of rabies. Without a rabies vaccination and quarantine period, the bitten person may have to undergo a series of painful rabies shots.

State law requires that the dog owner provide proof of current vaccinations, and if the dog is not vaccinated, the dog must be quarantined at an isolation facility. An isolation facility can be a veterinarian’s office, a pound, a Humane Society shelter or the owner’s …
Continue Reading »

Drunk Driving Laws in Wisconsin

In an effort to reduce drunk driving offenses, Wisconsin assesses fines, driver’s license penalties, and sometimes jail time to drunk driving offenders.  Below is a summary of potential consequences for drunk driving offenses. 

First-time offenders:

  • A first time offense is usually a non-criminal traffic citation, meaning no jail time may be assessed and a conviction will not be listed on the person’s criminal record.
  • If the first time offender caused a motor vehicle accident and injury, or had a minor passenger in the car, the charge may become criminal, even though it is the person’s first offense. 
  • First time offenses incur license revocations for six to nine months.
  • If the offender’s blood alcohol concentration (BAC) was a 0.15 or above, an ignition interlock device is required to be installed in all vehicles titled in the driver’s name.
  • Fines range from $150 – $300, not including costs.  With costs, total monies owed can range from $800 – $1000.
  • If an accident or injury was involved, fines and license revocation periods are subject to increase.

Second-time offenders: